# **South Somerset District Council**

**Minutes** of a meeting of the **Area West Committee** held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Brympton Way, Yeovil on **Thursday, 17th May 2007**.

(8.10 p.m. – 8.12 p.m.)

#### Present:

**Members:** Simon Bending, Dave Bulmer, Geoff Clarke, Nicci Court, Nigel Mermagen, Robin Munday, Ric Pallister, Ros Roderigo, Dan Shortland, Angie Singleton, Jean Smith, Kim Turner, Andrew Turpin, and Martin Wale,

The Chairman of Council, Councillor Ian Martin, was in the chair for the first two items only.

### 1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Mike Best and Linda Vijeh

# 2. Election of Chairman

**RESOLVED:** that Councillor Kim Turner be elected Chairman of the Committee for the municipal year 2007/8.

(Councillor Kim Turner in the Chair)

# 3. Appointment of Vice-Chairman

Nominations were proposed and seconded for Councillors Robin Munday and Linda Vijeh. On being put to the vote there were 11 votes for Robin Munday and 3 votes for Linda Vijeh. It was therefore:

**RESOLVED:** that Councillor Robin Munday be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing year.